Volunteering at Ft. Bragg: How to get started

I have heard from many many Army wives who want to get involved in volunteer work here at Ft. Bragg, but just don’t know where to start. I was one of those wives back before my son was born. My first year here I seemed to hit brick wall after brick wall every time I tried to get involved. Mostly, I just searched online for nursing homes that might need help, or Meals on Wheels… but it felt like wading through mud. Nobody seemed to answer the phone when I called, or respond to my emails.

It seems that as soon as I found out I was pregnant, volunteer opportunities flooded in. There was a need for PWOC volunteers, church nursery workers, church singers, Good News Bible Club volunteers, Meals on Wheels finally called me back, and I got a couple of job offers out of the blue. What!? Now that I was sick in my first trimester, EVERYBODY needed me!

Once my second trimester hit, I did do a little volunteering and just getting my foot in the door opened my eyes to how the volunteer circle works here. The best way to get started is with Army One Source. If you go to the link below, there will be a “volunteer tools” button in the upper right hand corner of the page. Click the button and it will take you to a map where you will select your state. After doing this, you will have the option to choose your community, “Ft. Bragg.” Now a series of drop down tables will give you all the possible volunteer opportunities on post. You can volunteer for: Boy scouts, ACS, red cross, thrift shops, the hospital, museums, girl scouts, chapel, and much much more.

For more info visit: http://www.myarmyonesource.com

Leave a Reply

