Cape Fear Regional Theatre

img_0723

I’ve got to say, of all the date nights with my husband, most of my favorites involve going to plays and musicals. There is something spectacular about the experience of the theatre: the flashing lights of the marquee, the bustle of excited patrons, and of course the play.  Every place we have ever lived, one of the first things we look up is the local playhouse; here in Fayetteville that happens to be Cape Fear Regional Theatre.

For my husband’s birthday last year, I thought I would surprise him and take him to see “Man of La Mancha.” Before coming to see this play, the most I knew about Don Quixote was what I had watched on Wishbone as a kid… something about a knight and windmills, right? Turns out there is much much more. One scene actually had me crying pretty heartily (although I was 9 months pregnant at the time, so that might have had something to do with it).

My most recent excursion to Cape Fear Regional Theatre was for the opening night of “The Wiz.” The house was packed and the mood was light. I went with my church group and were rolling at the antics of Scarecrow, Tin Man, and Lion. The music was superb and I couldn’t get the song “Ease on Down the Road” out of my head for a week.

Now I am anxiously awaiting the upcoming production of one of my favorite stories, “Arsenic and Old Lace.” This riveting farce keeps you on the edge of your seat. Now to find a babysitter…

For more information on Cape Fear Regional Theatre, visit: http://www.cfrt.org

 

Leave a Reply

